The Council of Architecture (COA)

Any person desirous of carrying on the profession of
    ‘Architect’ must have registered himself with Council of Architecture. For
    the purpose of registration, one must possess the requisite qualification
    as appended to the Architects Act, after having undergone the education in
    accordance with the Council of Architecture (Minimum Standards of
    Architectural Education) Regulations, 1983. The registration with Council
    of Architecture entitles a person to practice the profession of
    architecture, provided he holds a Certificate of Registration with
    up-to-date renewals. The registration also entitles a person to use the
    title and style of Architect. The title and style of architect can also be
    used by a firm of architects, of which all partners are registered with
    COA. Limited Companies, Private/Public Companies, societies and other
    juridical persons are not entitled to use the title and style of architect
    nor are they entitled to practice the profession of architecture. If any
    person falsely claims to be registered or misuses title and style of
    architect, such acts tantamount to committing of a criminal offence, which
    is punishable under section 36 or 37 (2) of the Architects Act, 1972.
The practice of profession of an architect is governed by the
    Architects (Professional Conduct) Regulations, 1989 (as amended in 2003),
    which deals with professional ethics and etiquette, conditions of
    engagement and scale of charges, architectural competition guidelines etc.
    Pursuant to these Regulations, the Council of Architecture has framed
    guidelines governing the various aspects of practice. An architect is
    required to observe professional conduct as stipulated in the Regulations
    of 1989 and any violation thereof shall constitute a professional
    misconduct, which will attract disciplinary action as stipulated under
    section 30 of the Architects Act, 1972.
There are 280 institutions, which impart architectural
    education in India leading to recognized qualifications. The standards of
    education being imparted in these institutions (constituent
    colleges/departments of universities, deemed universities, affiliated
    colleges/schools, IITs, NITs and autonomous institutions) is governed by
    Council of Architecture (Minimum Standards of Architectural Education)
    Regulations, 1983, which set forth the requirement of eligibility for
    admission, course duration, standards of staff & accommodation, course
    content, examination etc. These standards as provided in the said
    Regulations are required to be maintained by the institutions. The COA
    oversees the maintenance of the standards periodically by way of conducting
    inspections through Committees of Experts. The COA is required to keep the
    Central Government informed of the standards being maintained by the
    institutions and is empowered to make recommendations to the Government of
    India with regard to recognition and de-recognition of a qualification.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *